FinancingOil and gas

Shell-linked prepayment and bank facilities support Ibom Field development

A 23 October adviser announcement describes crude-backed prepayment and separate term-loan and working-capital facilities for Emadeb’s PPL 236 project; amounts and timing were not disclosed.

Generated illustration for this story, not a photograph of the project.

A financing package for development of Nigeria’s Ibom Field combines a crude-linked prepayment from Shell Western Supply and Trading Limited with term-loan and working-capital facilities from a Nigerian commercial bank, according to law firm Aluko & Oyebode, which said it advised Shell on the transaction in an announcement dated 23 October. The announcement did not disclose the amount, interest terms, maturity, drawdown schedule or closing date. It says the prepayment is provided against future crude deliveries and is intended to support the borrower’s working capital and continuing field development.

Financing and offtake tied together

Shell Western Supply and Trading Limited’s position as both prepayment lender and offtaker forms part of the financing and offtake arrangement, the firm said. That structure links access to cash with future crude sales: the producer receives funding against later deliveries, while the offtaker has a role in monetising production. The public announcement does not state the crude volume, pricing formula, delivery period, security package, or the relationship between the prepayment and the bank facilities. It also names Emadeb Energy Services Limited as the borrower, while identifying Emadeb Petroleum Exploration and Production Company Limited as operator of the field.

The supported development phase is described as Phase 2, involving drilling and completion of new production wells and development of a platform. Aluko & Oyebode says the package is intended to support ongoing operations as well as this programme. It does not give the number of wells, platform specification, construction schedule, expected production uplift or capital expenditure. Those unknowns matter because the announcement confirms a financing structure and scope, not a quantified reserve or output forecast.

PPL 236 and the field’s development context

Emadeb’s own upstream materials identify the Ibom Field with PPL 236 and place it within OML 70 in the southern Niger Delta, approximately 30 kilometres offshore in about 20 metres of water. Its current asset page lists ten oil- and gas-bearing reservoirs in the Agbada Formation and states reserves of 11.4 million barrels of oil and 92 billion standard cubic feet of gas. These figures are company-published reserve claims; the cited page does not provide a reserve classification or effective date, so they should not be read as independently audited current production or recoverable volumes. A company history published in November 2025 says Emadeb acquired 100% equity in the marginal field following the 2020 bid round and characterises additional wells, platforms and export facilities as part of the work programme.

NUPRC’s September 2024 concession situation report lists PPL 236 as an SR contract type, with 23.87 square kilometres, the Ibom field derived from OML 70, Emadeb Energy Services Ltd and Ibom Upstream Company Ltd shown in the concession table. The regulator document is historical and is used here to establish the licence and concession background as it appeared then, not to assert its current administrative status. The 23 October financing announcement presents the new package as support for domestic production capacity through an indigenous operator. Whether Phase 2 proceeds on a stated schedule, and the financial scale of the support, remain undisclosed in the material reviewed.

Sources

  1. Aluko & Oyebode Advises Shell Western Supply and Trading Limited on Prepayment Financing for the Development of the Ibom FieldCompany releaseAluko & OyebodePublished 23 October 2026Read 25 October 2026
  2. Ibom FieldCompany releaseEmadeb Energy GroupRead 25 October 2026
  3. Upstream ServicesCompany releaseEmadeb Energy GroupRead 25 October 2026
  4. Concession Situation ReportOfficial dataNigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory CommissionPublished 1 September 2024Read 25 October 2026
  5. Ibom field: a full cycle energy groupCompany releaseEmadeb Energy GroupPublished 4 November 2025Read 25 October 2026

Spotted an error or have a primary source we should read? Send a correction.

Related stories